i am NOT a vegetarian

to me, being a vegetarian means not eating meat, fish and poultry so i don’t consider myself a vegetarian because i eat seafood. i’ve heard the term pescetarians used to described people like me.

i feel uncomfortable when people call me ‘vegetarian’ because i still eat animal flesh and i kinda feel disrespectful to those who are real vegetarians.

but every time i explain to people here that i’m not a vegetarian because i eat fish, they don’t listen to the word ‘not’ and the ‘i eat fish’ part. they keep on calling me vegetarian.

take yesterday, for example. we were talking about having pizza at work tomorrow and had a discussion about what kind of pizza to order. almost all my work mates know i don’t eat meat so they always made a point of ordering a plain (tomato base and cheese topping) pizza when we have pizza night at work. but yesterday, someone said she wanted to have a seafood pizza but and the rest said then she could share it with me since i was a vegetarian.

i’m kinda curious, do people really think of fish eating people as vegetarians? or is it just here? wouldn’t this piss the vegetable-only-eating people?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the writer
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 22:11:32

    I think that’s the way it is here. It’s probably because Scandinavians eat so much meat (beef) and when you don’t eat beef then they will label you a veg. Anyhoo, it’s just a label isn’t it? I’m trying to walk your path too and reduce my beef intake(or our in this case since I take my Viking boyfriend with me to “suffer” under the no meat scheme). It’s healthier that way

    Reply

  2. 1980chandra
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 07:40:52

    true, it’s just a label but it kinda bothers me because it’s inaccurate. ah well…

    it’s really quite easy not to eat meat at home. it’s when you’re eating with other people, e.g. eating at someone else’s house or having a barbie or christmas season, when it becomes a bit inconvenient. my husband absolutely refuses to give up meat 🙄

    Reply

Leave a Reply

