do i look like i work here???

i was at the supermarket a couple of days ago when an old lady (over 80) asked me to help her with some juices. she was confused because there were a lot of types. i thought, is she talking to me? i looked around us expecting a shop assistant or someone she came to the shop with but nobody so i pointed to myself  and raised my eyebrows.

she said, ‘ forstår ikkje du??’ in a tone that is… not nice. kinda patronising.

i would’ve helped her but come on, you assume i don’t understand you just because i’m asian? so i said, ‘jo. men jeg jobber ikkje her.’ then i walked away.

i feel a bit bad about it now. i mean, i’d like to think that people would help one of my grandmas if they were in the same situation but still. she was kinda rude. or was i the rude one?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. this indonesian
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 08:16:54

    Argh. Same here. I’d be very pissed if I were you. I am too sensitive when it comes to things like these and old ladies – they’re often on the extreme edge: some of them can be really nice but most of them can be really racists.

    -….and yes because your face is Asian, she knows you’re an Immigrant, and might work there and might not understand Norwegian properly. Argh!

    Anyway, you did good thing by scolding her back. Now she should know better.

    PS: I am moving my blog here! Come and take a look, it’s so pretty ! 😀

    Reply

    • 1980chandra
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 12:04:27

      i still feel bad when i think about it but the way she said it was sooooo patronising, i was offended. and i said what i said without thinking, it just came out of my mouth. natural reaction, i guess.

      i’m off to your new house now. you move house a lot! hehehe

      Reply

  2. this indonesian
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 12:41:48

    I know *hangs head in shame* but this site is so pretty, I can’t resist it.

    Unlike you I don’t have bad conscience when it comes to telling people off LOL

    Reply

  3. 1980chandra
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 22:27:04

    i usually don’t if they deserve it but she was an old lady so…

    hahaha… you can’t resist temptation. but it’s very nice. i think i want to go back to plain white too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

