leftover from the holiday

1. no phone

i forgot to pay my mobile phone bill before leaving for the holiday so i came back to a letter asking me to pay within 14 it else they’d cut off my number. it was dated early august. the final day for paying came and went without me paying so guess what they did. they cut off my phone. i paid and got it back to live on tuesday. i went over five days without it and i now know why they call it crackberry. i was at work when i got it back and at lunch break, i did not talk to a soul because i was too busy with my phone. i have officially gone to the dark side.

 

2. no  bank card

while in indo i used my bank card the total of four times: atm in makassar, to buy headphones, atm in bali, to buy face wash. what can i say, i mostly lived on my parents’ money over there.

last day in indo. i wanted to take some money out just in case i had to pay excess luggage so there i stood in front of an atm machine at ngurah rai airport, my card already in the machine when my head suddenly went blank. i couldn’t, for the life of me, remember my pin code. i have tried for days to remember it and for some reason there is this set of number that came to me. again and again. i was so convinced that was it.

i went to the shop just to try it out. at the checkout, again, card at the ready, my head thought of this numbers but my fingers wanted to go somewhere else. i got so confused i kinda froze then said to the girl i’d be paying cash.

i decided that i’d e-mail the bank and ask them. MOH said maybe i could get my pin code from my internet banking. well, i could. why didn’t he think of this before? i had had to go around the house looking for my hidden cash just so i have some money in my wallet.

lesson learned: always checked that all bills are paid before going on a holiday and the internet is there for a reason, use it!

(and i figured out that pin code i was so sure of was the right one was actually my old pin code from my australian bank card. how i remember that and not my current one, i’ll never understand.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. this indonesian
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 17:24:31

    I have experienced that pin number thing. I stood in front of ATM and when I was about to enter my pin, the mind went blank. I even went to try a couple of times and it didn’t work, and of course my card got blocked.

    only to find myself jolt awake in the middle of the night with the four numbers burning in my mind. Duh!

    Reply

    • 1980chandra
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 19:01:37

      i tried it on many different occasions with different combinations. i was lucky it didn’t get blocked.

      isn’t it crazy how we can forget something we use so often?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

